The Skanner Newspaper - Sports http://theskanner.com/news/sports Wed, 20 Aug 2014 17:12:55 -0700 MYOB en-gb jim@marketingportland.com (The Skanner Newspaper) LeBron James Goes Back to Cleveland Cavaliers http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21517-lebron-james-goes-back-to-cleveland-cavaliers http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21517-lebron-james-goes-back-to-cleveland-cavaliers Pull of home takes James back to Cleveland with a goal of winning trophy with the Cavaliers 

]]>
Sports Fri, 11 Jul 2014 18:04:30 -0700
President Obama Honors Seattle Seahawks at the White House http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21267-president-obama-honors-seattle-seahawks-at-the-white-house http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21267-president-obama-honors-seattle-seahawks-at-the-white-house President Obama welcomed the Seattle Seahawks to the White House Wednesday, in honor of their Super Bowl win this past season

]]>
Sports Thu, 22 May 2014 17:10:56 -0700
Seattle Sounders Will Play First Game at New 49ers Stadium http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21240-seattle-sounders-will-play-first-game-at-new-49ers-stadium http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21240-seattle-sounders-will-play-first-game-at-new-49ers-stadium The Pac-12 Conference is moving its league championship game to the San Francisco 49ers' new stadium in Santa Clara  

]]>
Sports Thu, 15 May 2014 18:37:01 -0700
Oregon State University Fires Coach Craig Robinson http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21188-oregon-state-university-fires-coach-craig-robinson http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21188-oregon-state-university-fires-coach-craig-robinson Michelle Obama’s brother coached the OSU basketball team for six seasons without making the NCAA tournament

 

]]>
Sports Mon, 05 May 2014 17:38:23 -0700
NBA Playoff Matchups: Blazers v Spurs and the Rest http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21187-nba-playoff-matchups-blazers-v-spurs-and-the-rest http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21187-nba-playoff-matchups-blazers-v-spurs-and-the-rest  Who's playing who this week in the NBA playoffs 

 

]]>
Sports Mon, 05 May 2014 15:47:55 -0700
NBA Bans Clippers Owner Donald Sterling for Life http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21159-nba-bans-sterling-for-life http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21159-nba-bans-sterling-for-life Sterling cannot attend games or practices and can't be in Clippers' facilities

]]>
Sports Tue, 29 Apr 2014 18:54:12 -0700
Clippers Owner May Face Action From NBA http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21157-clippers-owner-may-face-action-from-nba http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21157-clippers-owner-may-face-action-from-nba NBA Commissioner Adam Silver expected to announce action on Clippers' owner Donald Sterling 

]]>
Sports Tue, 29 Apr 2014 16:16:49 -0700
Blazers Up 3-1 with 123-120 OT Win Over Rockets http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21148-blazers-up-3-1-with-123-120-ot-win-over-rockets http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21148-blazers-up-3-1-with-123-120-ot-win-over-rockets The Blazers haven't advanced out of the first round since 2000

 

]]>
Sports Mon, 28 Apr 2014 15:46:52 -0700
Hall Of Fame Coach Jack Ramsay Dies at 89 http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21147-hall-of-fame-coach-jack-ramsay-dies-at-89 http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21147-hall-of-fame-coach-jack-ramsay-dies-at-89 He led the Portland Trail Blazers to the 1977 NBA championship before he became one of the NBA's most respected broadcasters

]]>
Sports Mon, 28 Apr 2014 15:27:02 -0700
Trailblazers Defeat Rockets 112-105 in Second Away Game http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21133-trailblazers-defeat-rockets-112-105-in-second-away-game http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21133-trailblazers-defeat-rockets-112-105-in-second-away-game Fans feared the Portland Trailblazers would face insurmountable challenge in their second game against Houston. But Aldridge's performance sealed the win 

]]>
Sports Thu, 24 Apr 2014 16:13:10 -0700
Aldridge Leads Blazers Over Rockets 122-120 in OT http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21109-aldridge-leads-blazers-over-rockets-122-120-in-ot http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21109-aldridge-leads-blazers-over-rockets-122-120-in-ot Aldridge scored a career-high and franchise playoff-record 46 points

 

]]>
Sports Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:42:15 -0700
Portland Fighting Fillies Opening Game is Saturday http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21040-portland-fighting-fillies-opening-game-is-saturday http://theskanner.com/news/sports/21040-portland-fighting-fillies-opening-game-is-saturday The Portland Fighting Fillies Women’s Full Contact football team opens their season this Saturday, April 5 

 

]]>
Sports Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:08:28 -0700
Why The Sky Won't Look Blue Over Carolina Today http://theskanner.com/news/sports/20975-why-the-sky-won-t-look-blue-over-carolina-today http://theskanner.com/news/sports/20975-why-the-sky-won-t-look-blue-over-carolina-today Saluting the first weekend of games with a salute to the greatest closer ever

 

]]>
Sports Mon, 24 Mar 2014 15:33:42 -0700
BYU, Oregon Prepare for NCAA Tournament Rematch http://theskanner.com/news/sports/20963-byu-oregon-prepare-for-ncaa-tournament-rematch http://theskanner.com/news/sports/20963-byu-oregon-prepare-for-ncaa-tournament-rematch It's the first game for the Cougars since they lost sophomore guard Kyle Collinsworth to a season-ending knee injury

 

 

]]>
Sports Thu, 20 Mar 2014 17:30:01 -0700
Read Before Jumping Into the Deep End of NCAA Pool http://theskanner.com/news/sports/20960-read-before-jumping-into-the-deep-end-of-ncaa-pool http://theskanner.com/news/sports/20960-read-before-jumping-into-the-deep-end-of-ncaa-pool Welcome to BracketRacket -- think of it as one-stop shopping on game days for all your NCAA tournament needs

 

]]>
Sports Wed, 19 Mar 2014 22:20:09 -0700