05-25-2024  7:22 am   •   PDX and SEA Weather
Maxine Waters
Published: 13 September 2018

The National Newspaper Publishers Association hosts its annual board meeting and training this week, culminating in an award ceremony from 7:30 to 10 p.m. Friday night in Washington, D.C. at the Marriott Marquis, 901 Massachusetts Avenue, NW.

Those being honored this year include:

  • Rep. James E. Clyburn (D-S.C.)
  • Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)
  • Rep. Al Green (D-TX)
  • Jahana Hayes (Democratic candidate, 5th Congressional district of Connecticut)
  • Norma K. Jenkins (founder of Capstone Development)
  • Arsha Jones (entrepreneur)
  • Dr. Wally Smith (Florence Neal Cooper Smith professor of Sickle Cell Disease at Virginia Commonwealth University)
  • Kellee Edwards, host of The Travel Channel’s “Mysterious Islands”
  • Laura Wooten, the longest living, continually-serving poll worker in the United States

Speakers at the event will include:

  • Dorothy R. Leavell, NNPA 
  • Benjamin F. Chavis, Jr., NNPA President & CEO

Recently Published by The Skanner News

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random

The Skanner Foundation's 38th Annual MLK Breakfast